Troops among OHL All-Stars

Troops among OHL All-Stars
Photo/Article credit- North Bay Battalion

Right winger Anthony Romani was the leader of three North Bay Battalion representatives when the Ontario Hockey League announced its All-Star teams Tuesday.

Romani, who topped OHL scorers with 58 goals in 2023-24, was named to the Second All-Star team, while defenceman Ty Nelson and coach Ryan Oulahen were voted to the Third All-Star team. Nelson and Oulahen are repeat honourees from the same team a year earlier.

“Having had some time to reflect on the season, it’s nice to have reminders like these to commemorate the great season this group has had,” said Battalion general manager Adam Dennis.

“The three individuals recognized were certainly deserving, and we’re thrilled with their accomplishments. Congratulations to all three on this distinction. We’re all very proud here in North Bay.”

The First All-Star team consists of centre Dalibor Dvorsky and left winger Quentin Musty of the Sudbury Wolves, right winger Easton Cowan and defenceman Oliver Bonk of the London Knights, defenceman Zayne Parekh of the Saginaw Spirit, and goaltender Jacob Oster and coach Derek Laxdal of the Oshawa Generals.

In addition to Romani, the second team is made up of Oshawa centre Calum Ritchie, left winger Denver Barkey, defenceman Sam Dickinson and goaltender Michael Simpson of London, and defenceman Hunter Brzustewicz of the Kitchener Rangers. London’s Dale Hunter is the coach.

“Anthony Romani was able to show the league what we here in North Bay had known he was capable of since he came here at 16 years old,” noted Dennis. “It’s scary to think what’s next for him.”

With Nelson and Oulahen on the third team are Saginaw centre Owen Beck, left winger Liam Greentree of the Windsor Spitfires, right winger David Goyette of Sudbury, defenceman Michael Buchinger of the Guelph Storm and goaltender Carter George of the Owen Sound Attack.

“It’s been an honour and a privilege to work alongside Ryan these past few years, and I’m grateful for his dedication to his craft,” said Dennis. “I couldn’t think of a better mentor for our players.

“Ty will go down as one of the Battalion greats, and this is just another feather in his cap on what was a great junior career.”

In general, the teams are selected in voting by OHL general managers. Representatives with major positional awards are default first-team members, which applies to Cowan, Parekh, Oster and Laxdal.

Hello Awesome People!

It looks like you are using Ad Blocker. We can understand that you don't like to see the ads frequently. But please try to understand that our business survive on the ads. Main source of revenue is Ads, please support us by disabling ad blocker.

Thank you for visiting Report North Bay!